The Steyning Athletic Club: 2019 Awards

Recognised local members across a range of sports.
Notable winners this year included: Sarah Cotton (‘Performance of the Year’) for a year that was capped by her channel swim from Samphire Hoe beach (near Dover) to ‘The Cap’ headland on the French coast in July; and Ian Richards who, following another year of titles and world records, added the Steyning AC ‘Race Walker of the Year’ to his trophies from the Sussex Sports Awards (‘Sports Personality of the Year’) and British Masters (‘Male Athlete of the Year’ and ‘Race Walker of the Year’).
The full list of award winners are:
Standing: L-R: Camilla Bishop (Run Performance); Lawrence Naested (Piranha Award); Ian Richards (Race Walker); Connie Turner (Female Tri Champion); Sarah Cotton (Overall Performance + Swim Performance); Sue Weekes, Roger Flynn, Sarah Warren, Malcolm Geal and Narise Carey (Coaches of the Year);
Andy Selman (Member of the Year)
Seated: L-R: Sue Ford-Dunn (Swim Performer); Jo Hesketh (Circuiteer); Lydia Jordan (Multi-Sport Performance + Swim Performer); Dave Hill (Multi-Sport Performer).
Not pictured: Simmy D’Arienzo-Cole (Run Performer); Anne Witney (Multi-Sport Performance);
Shane Bridgman (Male Tri Champion + Swim Performance). SAC 2019 Awards photo by Moyra Amess.
Steyning AC are currently offering free trial membership to local folks who want to start running, swimming, cycling, race walking or circuit training with their local club.

Details can be found at
Share this article

Content Managed by Your SteyningCrafted by Scaws